Happy New Year !!! Feliz Anno Novo !!! Lang may yer Lum Reek !!!

It’s a crazy time at New Year isn’t it?

The Count Down is followed by many millions of people all around the world and of course now you can watch it all on TV as the clocks tick towards the final hour in different time zones.

This year was a first for me. I went to bed at 11.30 and slept like a log!

Meanwhile revellers let off fireworks, jumped over seven waves at the beach to bring good luck into 2014 and woke up with their first headache of the New Year several hours later.

On New Years Day I rode my trail bike high into the Jureia mountains and had lunch there at my friend Maria’s house. Her husband works in the banana plantations there. Their little house is an oasis of colour in an ocean of mono-culture. As we sat on their veranda a cool breeze was blowing up from the coast. A welcome relief from the 37 degrees in the shade and some 83% relative humidity down in the valley.

Wherever you are I hope that you will continue to visit my blog in 2014 and that you will notice some changes that will bring more of a personal touch.

Be happy!

Alastair

One thought on “Happy New Year !!! Feliz Anno Novo !!! Lang may yer Lum Reek !!!

  1. Hi Alistair, we have not met but I am a fellow Scot – 23 years in Brazil. Living, sorry, surviving in SP ! I loved you style of writing, very interesting. I have 3 sons who have all visited back home but are well rooted here. I heading back for 20 days in July. My family are from Stirling and Campbeltown. Just a note to say hello and all the best for 2014.

    Like

Leave a Reply

